Article

Scaur Hill Fort

Scaur Hill Fort (Ely’s Harbor, Somerset Road, Sandy’s Parish) — Built to protect overland routes to the Royal Naval Dockyard, the ramparts offer unequalled views of the Great Sound and lovely Ely’s Harbour. This untested fortification functioned well into the last century when American soldiers were stationed here during WWII. One of two 64-pound guns […]

Article

Royal Naval Dockyard

Royal Naval Dockyard (Clocktower Parade, 5 Freeport Road, Sandys MA 01) – explore 500 years of local history and culture, displayed in military buildings of the 10-acre Keep citadel, including the award winning restored Commissioner’s House. Bastions, cannons, shipwreck artifacts, local watercrafts, maritime art, spectacular sea views and dolphin encounters are all found in Bermuda’s […]

Article

The Old Rectory

Old Rectory, The (Broad Alley, Town of St. George) — This charming old Bermuda cottage was built by Captain George Dew in about 1699 and later became the home of Parson Richardson, who nicknamed it “The Little Bishop.” Architecturally, the house shows many similarities to buildings of the same period in the US state of […]

Article

Masterworks Museum of Bermuda Art

Masterworks Museum of Bermuda Art (Botanical Gardens, Paget Parish) — Set in the Botanical Gardens, Bermuda’s first ever purpose-built museum houses a collection of over 1,200 pieces of Bermuda inspired art. World renowned artists such as Georgia O’Keeffe, Winslow Homer and Albert Gleizes are part of the Collection. A continuously evolving show of local artists […]

Article

Hog Bay Park

Hog Bay Park (Middle Road, Sandys Parish) — Stroll along shaded paths past agricultural fields, woodlands, an ancient lime kiln and abandoned cottages. This 32-acre park comprises mostly beautiful rural countryside, but a highlight is the steep coastal hillside that slopes down to Brown’s Bay, the westernmost shoreline of our island. Birdwatchers frequently patrol the […]

Article

Gibbs Hill Lighthouse

Gibbs Hill Lighthouse (68 St Anne’s Road, Southampton Parish) – Built in 1844, Gibbs Hill Lighthouse is the taller of two lighthouses in Bermuda, and the first of only a few lighthouses in the world to be made of cast-iron. The optic consists of a Fresnel lens from 1904 revolving on steel bearings. However for […]

Article

Gates Fort

Gates Fort (Cut Road, St. George’s Parish) — Standing at the edge of Town Cut, the shipping passage to St. George’s Harbour, Davers Fort, as it was initially known, was first shown on a map published in 1626. Rebuilt in the 1790s, the Keep served as a barracks in the 1800s, and was home to […]

Article

Fort St. Catherine

Fort St. Catherine (15 Coot Pond Road, St. George’s Parish): Although a fortification has stood at St. Catherine’s Point for almost as long as there has been a Bermuda, the present fort dates from the 19th century. Inside and out, from the powder magazine to the gun platforms, the story of military history is well […]

Article

Fort Hamilton

(Happy Valley Road, Pembroke Parish) — During the American Revolutionary War, the island defence plan called for the population to retreat via ferry to St. George’s. As part of the plan, a battery was erected at the top of Ferry Island in the 1790s. The currently standing Ferry Island Fort replaced the battery in the […]

Article

Ferry Island Fort

Ferry Island Fort (Ferry Reach, St. George’s Parish) — During the American Revolutionary War, the island defense plan called for the population to retreat via ferry to St. George’s. As part of the plan, a battery was erected at the top of Ferry Island in the 1790s. The currently standing Ferry Island Fort replaced the […]